Why Out and About in London?

About this blog… ‘When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life; for there is in London all that life can afford.’ So said Samuel Johnson to James Boswell on September 20, 1777, and this blog covers just a small fraction of what this amazing city has to offer.

The major focus will be theatre reviews, for theatre is one of my biggest passions (I went to over one hundred productions in 2013), but I also review comedy and music gigs, museums and exhibitions, films, restaurants, bars and any other hidden gems I come across. I’m also aiming to walk the Capital Ring in 2014 and hope to blog about each section of the Ring as I complete it.

About me… I consider myself a true Londoner, having lived in the city for almost all of my twenty-nine years. I wish I could say I was one of those, apparently rare, born-and-bred Londoners, but unfortunately my parents met while they were both working in Hong Kong, and I was born there. They returned to London when I was a year old, and I have lived in the south-west of the city, beside the Thames, ever since, apart from a few years at university in Oxford and a brief stint teaching English in Italy.

As a lesbian, LGBT issues are important to me, as is the representation of queer entertainment in London in all its forms. Wherever you come from and whatever your sexual orientation, I hope you enjoy what you read. I’d also love to hear from anyone who stops by my blog, so please do use the contact form to get in touch.

Happy Reading!

Categories: About

1 reply

  1. Hi Laura, after enjoying your blog I wanted to invite you to watch our production of ‘Handbag’ by Mark Ravenhill showing at the Courtyard theatre from 8th-13th July. It would be great if you would be able to review us!

Leave a Reply

