What’s Been On My Mind This Week

Question MarkSo I thought I’d start a new weekly post – which I hope to write on Sundays – about what’s been on my mind during the week. Please don’t expect any profound insights; like the rest of the blog, it will mostly be concerned with LGBT issues and with what’s going on in London. So, here’s the first one – let me know what you think!

1. Ellen Page’s amazing coming-out speech at the Human Rights Campaign’s Time to Thrive conference. Whatever your sexual identity, please watch it here.

2. The Church of England issued new pastoral guidance on Friday regarding equal marriage: same-sex couples will be able to have special prayers after their weddings, but it will not be a service of blessing (‘It will continue not to be legally possible for two persons of the same sex to marry according to the rites of the Church of England.’). Members of the clergy are also still forbidden from entering into same-sex marriages when these are legalised next month. More in the Independent.

3. The BAFTAs are awarded tonight. Blue Jasmine is the best film I’ve seen in the last six months, so I hope it picks up some gongs.

4. The Almeida Theatre announced Rupert Goold’s first season as the new Artistic Director. It will be interesting to see how the plays – about Prince Charles as King and about The Simpsons‘ Mr Burns – are received. An interview with Goold about his approach to his new job also ran in the Guardian.

5. David Hare’s play Skylight is to be revived by Stephen Daldry, and will see Billy Nighy return to the role of Tom Sargeant. Carey Mulligan will make her West End Debut as schoolteacher Kyra Hollis. Previews start on 6th June at the Wyndham’s Theatre.

6. I have booked my first ever trip to Manchester in order to see Orlando at the Royal Exchange Theatre next month.

7. The much-anticipated reopening of Polpetto restaurant (under executive head chef Florence Knight) finally happened. Polpetto can now be found on Berwick Street. Good luck getting a table.

8. The Grilled Broccolini with Crispy Shallots and Tamarind Glaze at Peter Gordon’s New Zealand restaurant Kopapa in Seven Dials. I order it every time I’m there, which is often. So good.

9. I’m currently reading Salvation of a Saint by Keigo Higashino. I’m not sure I would describe Higashino as ‘the Japanese Stieg Larsson’, but his crime novels are excellent, and feature cases so complex they seem impossible to solve . . .

10. I’m currently listening to Brooklyn-based duo Chairlift, whose second album Something is a wonderful, electronic delight.

Categories: On My Mind . . .

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

